OIT Help Desk

Check out our hours and how-to guides.

Teams Expiration Policy and Renewing your Team

Organizations with a large number of teams often have teams that are never actually used. This can happen because of several reasons including product experimentation, short-term team collaboration, or team owners leaving the organization. Over time, such teams can accumulate and create a burden on tenant resources. Because of this, we have an automatic expiration policy in place.


 


Expiration Policy

To curb the number of unused teams, any team that is unused for a year will automatically expire. A team owner receives a notification for team renewal 30 days, 15 days and 1 day before the team's expiration date. When the team owner receives the notification, they can stop the team from expiring using the instructions below. If the team owner doesn't renew the team and there is no further activity on the team until the end of the expiration policy, the team is put in a "soft-deleted" state, which means it can be restored within the next 30 days. If this happens to your team and you need it restored, please contact the OIT Help Desk.

 

Renewing Your Team

To renew your team or check when your Team expires, please follow the guide below:

  1. Select More Options  and then select the option Manage Team from the menu.

  1. Select the Settings tab and open the dropdown for Team Expiration. This will show you the date that the specified Team will expire. To renew your Team for a whole year, just click the Renew Now button and a message will appear informing you of the new Team expiration date.


Communication and Collaboration > Microsoft Teams
Article 792 | Last Reviewed 9/8/2020 8:12 AM