OIT Help Desk

Check out our hours and how-to guides.

Teams Meeting Options and Roles


What options do meeting organizers have to control meetings?


Change Participant Settings for a Teams Meeting

Meeting organizers can make changes to meeting options on the Meeting options web page. If you have a delegate, they can also edit the meeting options for your meetings.

 

Go to Meeting Options

You can access this page a few different ways, depending on what kind of meeting it is.

 

Scheduled Meetings

There are three different ways to get to Meeting options for a scheduled meeting:

  • In Teams, go to Calendar , select a meeting, and then Meeting options.
  • In a meeting invitation, select Meeting options.
  • During a meeting, select Show participants in the meeting controls. Then, above the list of participants, choose Manage permissions .

 

Instant Meetings

Once you've started a meeting by selecting Meet now  (whether from a channel or your calendar):

  1. Choose Show participants    in your meeting controls. You'll see a list of everyone in the meeting.
  2. Above the list, select Manage permissions  to go to Meeting options.

 

Change Participant Settings

There are several different participant settings a meeting organizer can change. 

 

Choose Who can Bypass the Lobby

As the meeting organizer, you get to decide who gets into your meetings directly, and who should wait for someone to let them in. By default, everyone can bypass the lobby.

 

If you choose to have people wait, you (and anyone else allowed to admit people) will see a list of people in the lobby. From there you can choose whether to admit or deny them.

Who can bypass the lobby? 

What happens

Recommended when...

Only you

As the meeting organizer, only you can get into your meeting directly. Everyone else will wait in the lobby.

You want everyone else to wait in the lobby until you're ready to admit them.

People in my organization

Only people in your org, including colleagues and guests who have different email domains than you do, can get into your meetings directly.

You want all external guests to wait in the lobby so you can approve them one by one.

People in my organization and trusted organizations

Only people in your Teams org and external guests from trusted organizations can get into your meetings directly.

You want some external guests to wait in the lobby so you can approve them one by one.

Everyone

Anyone who has access to the meeting link gets into the meeting directly, including people who call in.

You don’t want anyone to wait in the lobby. You want everyone to be able to join your meetings without specific approval.

 

Let People Calling in by Phone Bypass the Lobby

You'll see a toggle next to Always let callers bypass the lobby. When this setting is enabled, people calling in by phone will join your meeting without having to wait for someone to admit them. 

 

Select the toggle to turn it on or off. 

 

Get Notified When Callers Join or Leave

You may want to receive an alert when someone calling in by phone joins or leaves your meeting.

 

To change this setting, select the toggle next to Announce when callers join or leave? 

 

Choose Who can Present

Who can present is controlled by peoples roles in the meeting.

 

Roles in a Teams Meeting

If you're organizing a meeting with multiple attendees, you may want to assign roles to each participant to determine who can do what in the meeting. 

 

There are two roles to choose from: presenter and attendee. Presenters can do just about anything that needs doing in a meeting, while the role of an attendee is more controlled.

 

Below are the specific capabilities of each role:

Capability

Organizer

Presenter

Attendee

Speak and share video

  

  

  

Participate in meeting chat

  

  

  

Share content

  

  

 

Privately view a PowerPoint file shared by someone else

  

  

  

Take control of someone else's PowerPoint presentation

  

  

 

Mute other participants

  

  

 

Remove participants

  

  

 

Admit people from the lobby

  

  

 

Change the roles of other participants

  

  

 

Start or stop recording

  

  

 

 

Change Meeting Roles

 

Before a Meeting

You'll need to send out the meeting invite before you can assign roles.

 

Once you've done that, go to Calendar , click on the meeting you just created, and select Meeting options.

 

This will bring you to a web page, where you'll see a few choices under Who can present?

Who can present?

What happens

Everyone

Anyone who has access to the meeting link will join the meeting as a presenter. 

People in my organization

Only people in your org will be presenters. External participants will join as attendees.

Specific people

Only people you choose from the list of invitees will be presenters. Everyone else will join as attendees.

Only me

Only the organizer will be a presenter. All other participants will join as attendees.

 

A couple things to keep in mind:

  • You'll need to send your meeting invite directly to anyone you want to select as a presenter.
  • You won't be able to select someone from a different org as a presenter.

Note: The ability to select specific presenters isn't yet available for channel meetings. 

 

During a Meeting

There are two ways to change someone's role while a meeting is in progress:

  1. Go to Calendar  ,click on the meeting, and select Meeting options. Use the dropdown menu for Who can present? to select a new presenter.

Note: If the meeting is recurring, any change you make in Meeting options will apply to all meeting occurrences.

  1. Click Show participants in the meeting controls to see a list of the people in the people in the meeting. Hover over the name of the person whose role you want to change and click More options  . From there, select Make a presenter or Make an attendee

Notes: 

  • If the meeting is recurring, role assignments made in this way will only apply to the ongoing occurrence of the meeting. For future occurrences, participants will keep the role assigned to them on the Meeting options page.
  • If someone exits the meeting and then rejoins it later, they'll rejoin with the last role they were assigned.

Communication and Collaboration > Microsoft Teams
Article 622 | Last Reviewed 7/30/2020 3:23 PM