OIT Help Desk

Check out our hours and how-to guides.

Using OneDrive in a Browser

This article will show the basics of using OneDrive in a browser. The sections included are:

  • Accessing OneDrive through the Web
  • Upload files or Folders to OneDrive
  • Manage Files and Folders
  • Collaborate in OneDrive

 


Using OneDrive in a Browser

Accessing OneDrive through the Web

  1. In order to access OneDrive on the web, go to portal.office.com and login with your UT Dallas email ([email protected]) and password. You will also need to authenticate with NetIDplus (Duo).

  1. Select OneDrive from the list of applications.

  1. Once you are inside OneDrive, you will be presented with the file system displaying all your files and folders.

 

Upload Files or Folders to OneDrive

  1. Select Upload > Files or Folder

  1. Select the files you want to upload, and select Open.
  2. If you don’t see Upload > Folder, create a folder and then upload the files to that folder.

 

Create a folder

  1. Select New > Folder.

  1. Type a name for the folder and select Create

 

Manage Files and Folders

  1. In OneDrive, right click the file or select the three vertical dots.

  1. Select whichever command you would like to do on the file or folder.

 

Collaborate in OneDrive

  1. Select the files or folder you’d like to share and select Share

  • Enter a name or an email address for the person you wish to share with

  • Select People you specify can view to change the ability to edit the document, select the settings you would like, and select Apply

  1. Select how you'd like to share:
  • Send - You can add a message if you wish and then automatically send the sharing message
    • Copy Link - Gives you a link that you can then give to others
    • Outlook - Allows you to open the sharing message in Outlook and type your message before sending it

 

Stop or Change Sharing

If you are the file owner, or have edit permissions, you can stop or change the sharing permissions.

  1. Select the file or folder you want to edit sharing for
  2. Select Information  in the upper-right corner and then select Manage access under the "Has Access" pane
  3. Under "Links Giving Access" or "Direct Access":
    • You can delete shared links and edit the access to those links
    • Select Can Edit to allow shared document/folder to be edited
    • Select Can View to allow a read-only access
    • Select Stop Sharing to remove all access

Endpoint Computing > Personal File Storage
Article 407 | Last Reviewed 9/15/2020 2:10 PM