Volleyball Team Wins Third Straight ASC Crown, Clinches NCAA Berth
Comets Will Play Claremont-Mudd-Scripps College in Opening Round on Friday in Georgetown, Texas

Volleyball team

The UT Dallas volleyball team won its fifth American Southwest Conference championship after beating the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor on Saturday at the Activity Center. The Comets also won the title in 2008, 2009, 2015 and 2016.

The UT Dallas volleyball team will kick off its third consecutive trip to the NCAA Division III National Tournament on Friday against Claremont-Mudd-Scripps College in the opening round in Georgetown, Texas.

The Comets (24-10) claimed their third straight and fifth overall American Southwest Conference (ASC) championship over the weekend to secure the program’s sixth berth in the national tournament. UT Dallas will play at a regional hosted by Southwestern University.

The Comets reached the regional title match last fall, and have won at least one match in their last three appearances in the event. 

Last Saturday night, the team clinched the conference title with a 3-0 win over the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor in the finals of the double-elimination tournament at the Activity Center.

Senior middle blocker Emma Wallbrown was named the tournament’s most valuable player and was joined on the All-ASC Tournament Team by sophomore Caroline Shecterle and freshman Alana Geymer.


NCAA Tournament Information

First, Second and Third Rounds
Southwestern University, Georgetown, Texas


12:30 p.m. — Trinity (27-7) vs. Pacific Lutheran (20-4)
3 p.m. — College of New Rochelle (20-10) vs. Colorado College (31-1) 
5:30 p.m. — UT Dallas (24-10) vs. Claremont-Mudd-Scripps College (25-5)
8 p.m.  —  Whittier College (18-9) vs. Southwestern (29-5)

Bracket: Find the complete schedule and pairings on

Social media: Follow the Comets on Twitter and Facebook

Media Contact: The Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected].