UTD’s Erik Jonsson School To Launch Distinguished Lecture Series on Oct. 4
First Discussion To Address High Performance Microprocessors

The Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science at The University of Texas at Dallas (UTD) will launch a new Distinguished Lecture Series on Oct. 4 that will focus on topics of particular interest to the engineering and computer science communities.

The fall 2002 series will be sponsored by the Lars Magnus Ericsson Chair in Electrical Engineering at UTD and will feature scholars and corporate executives addressing issues in such areas as microprocessors, DNA sequencers and network security, among others.

All of the lectures, which are free and open to the public, will begin at 11 a.m. on the UTD campus in Room 2.102 of the recently completed Engineering and Computer Science Complex South. The 2002 schedule is as follows:

  • Oct. 4 – Dr. Yale Patt, Ernest Cockrell Jr. Centennial Chair in Engineering, U.T. Austin, The High Performance Microprocessor: How We Got To Where We Are And How We Will Get To Where We Will Be (in 2012). Patt received the Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and is an avid researcher of microprocessors. He is a fellow of ACM and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).
  • Oct. 18 – Dr. J. R. (Bob) Biard, chief scientist (retired), Honeywell Micro Switch Division, Optoelectronics: A Personal Perspective of Past History and Future Challenges. Biard received the Honeywell Lund award and the Texas Instruments Patrick E. Haggerty Innovation award and conducts research in the areas of optoelectronics and sensor design. He is a fellow of IEEE and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.
  • Oct. 25 – Dr. S. Rao Kosaraju, Edward J. Schaefer Professor of Engineering, Johns Hopkins University, Issues In DNA Sequence Assembly And Analysis. Kosaraju was bestowed the William H. Huggins and Alumni Association Excellence in Teaching awards from Johns Hopkins. His areas of research include algorithms, pattern matching, data structures, DNA sequence assembly and n-body potentials. Kosaraju is a fellow of ACM and IEEE.
  • Nov. 8 – Dr. Ken Kennedy, Ann and John Doerr Professor of Computational Engineering, Rice University, Generation of High Performance Problem-Solving Systems From Domain Libraries. Kennedy received the W. Wallace McDowell award from the IEEE Computer Society and the Computing Research Association Distinguished Service Award. His areas of study include compiler optimization and high-performance computing. Kennedy is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), ACM and IEEE.
  • Nov. 15 – Dr. Aravind K. Joshi, Henry Salvatori Professor of Computer and Cognitive Science, University of Pennsylvania, Starting With Complex Primitives Pays Off. Joshi is a Guggenheim Fellow and conducts research in the areas of natural language processing, parsing algorithms, mathematical linguistics and information and communication theory. He also is a fellow of ACM, the American Association for Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) and IEEE, and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.
  • Nov. 18 – Dr. H. T. Kung, William H. Gates Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, Harvard University, A Better Network Security Strategy: Put Adversaries In A Disadvantage. Kung conducts research in the areas of systolic computation, parallel computing, computer networks and security. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and Academia Sinica (Taiwan).
  • Dec. 2 – Dr. Fred Brooks, Jr., Kenan Professor of Computer Science, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, The Design of Designs. Brooks received the A.M. Turing award and the Allen Newell award from ACM, the John von Neumann Medal from IEEE and the National Medal of Technology from the United States Department of Commerce. He conducts research in interactive computer graphics, human-computer interaction, virtual worlds and molecular graphics. Brooks is a fellow of AAAS, ACM, the British Computer Society and IEEE, and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a foreign member of the Royal Academy of Engineering (U.K.).

For additional information about the lecture series, please contact Lin Maute at [email protected] or (972) 883-6851.

Media Contact: (972) 883-4431 [email protected] , or the Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected].