University Honors Student Leaders for Outstanding Contributions

Mohammed Sharief and Brooke Lpez

UT Dallas healthcare studies senior Mohammed Sharief presented Brooke López with the Student Leader of the Year honor at the Student Leadership Awards.

The University of Texas at Dallas has recognized four students, an advisor and a student organization for their outstanding contributions to campus life at the Student Leadership Awards.

The annual awards highlight the University’s commitment to helping students develop the leadership skills they will need to succeed in their future careers and lives, said Beth Roller, assistant director of Student Leadership Programs.

“It is such an honor to be able to recognize a few of the countless student leaders who work to make UTD the amazing place that it is,” Roller said.

The Student Leader of the Year Award was presented to Brooke López, a public affairs senior in the School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences for her leadership skills, impact on the campus community, and involvement in organizations and activities both on and off campus.

“As an outstanding leader, Brooke is a selfless individual who never says no when asked for help. She is the perfect person to represent this campus as the Student Leader of the Year,” read one of her nomination letters.

The other awards given were:

The Patty Atchley Service to Student Life Award — Kaylie Hartman, senior, School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences. This award honors students who go above and beyond the call of duty to improve student life at UT Dallas.

Community Service Award — Ahneesh Mohanty, senior, School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics. This award recognizes outstanding service to the community.

Rising Star Award — Dalton Owens, sophomore, Naveen Jindal School of Management. This award honors freshmen and sophomores who have shown outstanding leadership abilities.

Advisor of the Year Award — Monique Wedderburn, director of the UT Dallas Asia Center and advisor for the Bangladeshi Student Organization. This award recognizes outstanding dedication and service.

The Golden Comet Award — Alpha Phi Omega. This award honors a student organization for its positive impact on the campus and surrounding community.

Media Contact: The Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected].