School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences Recognizes Faculty, Recent Grads with Awards

Dr. Shayla Holub

Associate professor Dr. Shayla Holub received the 2015 Aage Møller Teaching Award, which is given annually to an outstanding teacher selected from nominations by faculty and students.

Associate professor Dr. Shayla Holub has been awarded the 2015 Aage Møller Teaching Award, one of several honors given to faculty members and students in the School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences (BBS). 

Holub, head of the psychological sciences programs, teaches undergraduate and graduate classes, and is a leading researcher in childhood obesity. 

“Shayla Holub has established herself as a highly successful teacher and mentor,” said Dr. Bert Moore, dean of the school and Aage and Margareta Møller Distinguished Professor. “She has an unusual breadth of expertise and a commitment to her students.” 

The teaching award was established by Dr. Aage Møller, Founders Professor in neuroscience, to promote and recognize outstanding teaching, and is given based on nominations by the faculty’s peers and students. 

Møller said he established the award to emphasize the value of good teaching. “The purpose was to recognize teaching as an important component of academic activity,” he said. “We as teachers have a unique and privileged position to influence young people.” 

Students had plenty of accolades for Holub’s teaching skills. 

Dr. Ross Roeser and Dr. Bert Moore

Dr. Ross Roeser (left), with Dr. Bert Moore, dean of the School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences, was selected as the 2015 Distinguished Lecturer.

“I loved being in Professor Holub’s class. She is very enthusiastic about psychology and very thorough with information and content,” one student wrote in an evaluation.

Another student wrote, “(Dr. Holub’s class) was one of my most challenging courses, yet it was also one of the most rewarding!” 

Dr. Ross Roeser, program head for audiology and Lois and Howard Wolf Professor in Pediatric Hearing, also was honored as the school’s Distinguished Lecturer, a title that recognizes a faculty member’s international presence as a contributor to his or her field. 

Roeser is a Fellow of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association and the American Academy of Audiology. He is one of the founders of the American Auditory Society. He also founded and was the first editor-In-chief of the journal Ear and Hearing. Since 2003, Roeser has been the editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Audiology

“Ross has had a transformative impact on the profession of audiology, both in his advocacy for the science, as well as for his participation in numerous issues defining scope of practice and professionalism with audiology,” Moore said.

BBS Awardsfor 2015 Graduates 

Student Leadership AwardsFor contributions to student life and organizations

Aaron Douglas Dotson, neuroscienceCassandra Natalie Karl, speech-language pathology and audiologyAustin L. Schmidt, psychology 

Dean’s Award for ExcellenceFor academic performance

Danae Elizabeth Kersh, child learning and developmentAmanda Jean Soladay, cognitive scienceKate Elizabeth Flanagan, neuroscienceBrooke L. Hinson, psychologyAdriana Geibel Ribeiro, speech-language pathology and audiology 

Dean’s ScholarsFor those in program who complete service contributions

Ibrahim Noorbhai, neuroscienceCourtney Samantha Wayne, psychology 

BBS HonorsFor those in Honors Seminar who completed a thesis

Rachel Jieun Choi, neurosciencePriscilla Jacob, psychologyEsther Wing-Yan Li, psychologyIbrahim Noorbhai, neuroscienceJessica Marie Shotland, neuroscienceMaria Sergeyevna Skobeleva, neuroscienceShyam Chinmay Vedantam, neuroscienceCourtney Samantha Wayne, psychologyChristof Zaayman, neuroscience 

Note: All students listed earned their bachelor’s degrees

Media Contact: The Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected].

Tagged: BBS