President Daniel Plays New Role in American Southwest Conference

Dr. Daniel talking to UT Dallas Men's Basketball Coach

President David E. Daniel chats with head men's basketball coach Terry Butterfield during the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Division III Tournament held in Stevens Point, Wis. Daniel will be vice president of the 2014-15 American Southwest Conference Executive Committee. (Photo by Yang Xi/The Mercury)

UT Dallas president David E. Daniel has been named a member of the 2014-15 American Southwest Conference Executive Committee, which was announced by the conference at the group's recent annual meeting in Dallas.

Twelve colleges and universities located in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas hold membership in the athletic conference.

UT Dallas became a part of the NCAA Division III and the American Southwest Conference in 1998 and completed the conference's four-year provisional period in 2002. Men's Comet sports include baseball, basketball, cross country, golf, soccer and tennis. Women's teams include basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, tennis and volleyball.

Daniel, who has served as UT Dallas president since 2005, will serve as the ASC Executive Committee's vice president for the upcoming academic year and will take over as president of the committee in 2015-16. Howard Payne University president Dr. Bill Ellis will serve as the Executive Committee's president in 2014-15, while the University of Texas at Tyler president Dr. Rod Mabry completes the committee as past president.

The newly announced conference officers began their one-year terms June 2.

The ASC will begin its 19th year of league competition in 2014-15.

Media Contact: The Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected].