ECS Deans of Past, Present to Observe Anniversary

As part of its 25th anniversary celebration, the Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science will host a panel discussion featuring the school’s three former deans moderated by the current dean, Dr. Mark Spong.

The discussion will focus on the school’s accomplishments, history and future. The deans will share their experiences and take questions from the audience.

“We are pleased to host such an esteemed group of individuals who are willing to share their unique contributions in shaping the school’s history and direction over the last 25 years,” said Spong, who also holds the Lars Magnus Ericsson Chair in Electrical Engineering. “We are equally excited to hear their thoughts on the futures of both the School and the University as we continue to grow.”

The event will be at 3:30 p.m. Friday, Sept. 23, in the TI Auditorium at UT Dallas.

Former deans speaking at the event will include:

  • Dr. Blake Cherrington, dean from 1986 to 1995.
  • Dr. Bill Osborne, dean from 1995 to 2002.
  • Dr. Bob Helms, dean from 2003 to 2008.

A reception will be held in their honor following the presentation at 5 p.m. in the ECS North Lobby.

25 Years of Engineeringand Computer Science

Dr. Blake Cherrington1986-1995

Dr. Bill Osborne1995-2002

Dr. Bob Helms2003-2008

Dr. Mark Spong2008 to present

Media Contact: The Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected].