BrainHealth Honors Longtime Supporter Dee Wyly

Oct. 28, 2011

The Center for BrainHealth at The University of Texas at Dallas has presented Dee Wyly with its highest honor, the Legacy Award. The BrainHealth Legacy Award recognizes the pioneering spirit of individuals whose generosity, vision and dedication to brain research enable the center to explore the vast potential of the human mind.

BrainHealth Legacy Award event 2011

Longtime Center for BrainHealth supporter Dee Wyly (center) is congratulated on her Legacy Award from (left) board president Debbie Francis and founder and chief director Dr. Sandra B. Chapman.

“Dee Wyly’s commitment to the Center for BrainHealth has made cutting-edge research a reality,” said Dr. Sandra B. Chapman, founder and chief director of the Center for BrainHealth. “Holding the Dee Wyly Distinguished Chair inspires me every single day.”

“Brain health is an extremely important issue, one that touches each and every one of us,” Wyly said. “Just to think we have one of the best, most innovative brain research centers that is focused on discovering how to make all of us think smarter right here in Dallas - who wouldn’t want that? That’s why I got involved in a major way.”

Past BrainHealth Legacy Award recipients include Dianne Cash, Debbie Francis, T. Boone Pickens and James Huffines.

Gloria Martindale chaired the Legacy Dinner Committee that included Lou Cagle, Alison Hunsicker, Jessica Jesse, Sue Justice, Anne Nixon and Jill Smith. “I am honored to have planned a special event to recognize a remarkable woman and dedicated community supporter, Dee Wyly,” Gloria Martindale said. “Her leadership has been the foundation of many scientific breakthroughs at the Center for BrainHealth.”

The BrainHealth Legacy Award Dinner raised more than $450,000 to support the Center for BrainHealth’s research.

The host committee for the event included Maggie Flagg, Terry Van Willson, Ruth Buzzi and Kent Perkins, Dianne Cash, Yvonne and Mayo Crum, Patsy Donosky, Debbie and Jim Francis, Carolyn and Tav Lupton, Bobby B. Lyle, Edith and Peter O’Donnell, Jill and Tracy Rowlett, Jane and Bud Smith, Barbara and Sterling Williams.

Media Contact: Shelly Kirkland, UT Dallas Center for BrainHealth, (214) 905-3007, [email protected]
or the Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected]
facebook icon twitter icon linkedin icon email icon

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size

Legacy Award Dinner Donors

The BrainHealth Legacy Award Dinner raised more than $450,000 to support the Center for BrainHealth’s research.



Dee and Charles Wyly



Rita and Henry Hortenstine/
Rouse Family Foundation

Mr. and Mrs. Peter O’Donnell, Jr.

The Boone Pickens Foundation

Rowling Foundation

Barbara and Sterling Williams


Linda W. Hart
and Milledge A. Hart III

Al G. Hill Jr.


Gene and Jerry Jones

Jennifer and Jim Lincoln

Eugene McDermott Foundation

Ellen and John McStay

Martha and Don Miller

Cheryl and Sam Wyly

Emily Wyly


Dr. and Mrs. Kenneth Z. Altshuler

Lana and Barry Andrews

Faye C. Briggs

Dianne Cash

Patsy M. Donosky

Karen and Phil Drayer/
Cher and David Jacobs

Mr. and Mrs. John Eulich/
Mr. and Mrs. J. Bruce Martindale III

Debbie and Jim Francis

Bobby B. Lyle

Caroline & Matt Nunley

Gena & Chuck Norris/
Kickstart Kids

Vin & Caren Prothro Foundation

Jan & Trevor Rees-Jones

Dr. George A. & Ellen Wagner Roberts

Harold Simmons Foundation

Tolleson Wealth Management

Lee Ann & Alan White/
PlainsCapital Corporation

Barbara and Sterling Williams

Share this page

Email this article.

May 21, 2018