Career Development Honor Society Gets to Work

Jan. 20, 2011

Delta Epsilon Iota, the nation’s only academic honor society structured around careers, has welcomed 395 inductees into the newly formed UT Dallas Omicron Iota chapter.

The society serves as a bridge between undergraduates and career services. The chapter, the first within The University of Texas System, is sponsored by the UT Dallas Career Center.

The oDelta Epsilon Iota logorganization is designed to give students a forum for leadership, community service and insight into career development issues through meetings, programs and special events. 

Michael Doty, director of the Career Center, says the national organization has a unique mission:  to educate its members about careers, encourage academic excellence and promote the principles of dedication, enthusiasm and initiative in all aspects of campus life.

Jody Everson, assistant director of career services at the University, will serve as the chapter’s adviser. Shereada Harrell, career expos coordinator, is the assistant adviser.

“Jody’s commitment to establishing the UT Dallas chapter has been instrumental in the success of the new membership drive and in recruiting officers,” Doty said.  “We were surprised by the overwhelming, positive response during our membership drive.  All UT Dallas schools are well represented among the new inductees, and the officers are looking forward to getting programming off the ground.”

Media Contact: Jenni Huffenberger, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2244, [email protected]
or the Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected]
facebook icon twitter icon linkedin icon email icon

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size

Executive Board and Officers

Officers for UT Dallas Delta Epsilon Iota

Officers for the UT Dallas chapter of Delta Epsilon Iota are (from left):

  • Megan Bishop, arts and performance, director of events and programs
  • Norman Liu, computer science, director of recruitment
  • Shawn Allahyari, biology, treasurer
  • Parisa Korous, political science, president                   
  • Rosalynn Wang, geosciences, secretary/national secretary
  • Ladan Shaygan, marketing/global business, director of marketing and campus relations
  • Sloane Skipper, international political economy, parliamentarian/historian

Not pictured:

  • Ty Andrews, political science, VP/president elect
  • Jamacah Lett, criminology, director of community engagement

Share this page

Email this article.

June 17, 2018