Circulation Policies For Faculty Members
This policy defines the privileges and responsibilities of faculty members who borrow materials from the Libraries at the University of Texas at Dallas. These policies are continually reviewed and revised by appropriate UT-Dallas administrators to reflect current library operations.
Eligibility and Identification
The checkout period varies by affiliation, collection within the library, and patron status (undergraduate, graduate, faculty). The following is a list of eligible borrowers with the appropriate checkout periods for the general circulating collection.
|Checkout Period||Maximum Renewals||Maximum Items|
|UT-Dallas Faculty and Library Professionals||Semester||6||300|
|UT-Dallas Lecturers and Doctoral Students||Semester||6||150|
To borrow most materials, eligible faculty members must present their own valid UT-Dallas identification card or TexShare card.
Faculty Members Responsibilities
Faculty members are responsible for any materials checked out on their library cards. They are responsible for returning materials by the due date and time. Circulation staff will issue a return receipt upon request. Faculty members are responsible for providing a current local mailing address, email address, and telephone number in order to receive timely information from the UT Dallas Libraries. Faculty members are also responsible for notifying the UT Dallas Libraries when their UT Dallas ID or TexShare card has been lost or stolen. Customers are responsible for all library material charged to their account until they notify the Library staff of a lost card.
A valid UTD faculty member may be prevented from borrowing materials for the following reasons:
- Exceeding the limit for outstanding fines and/or fees (see Fines below)
- Exceeding the limit for the number of books checked out (see Limits on the number of items below)
- Exceeding the limit of overdue items (see Fines below)
- Ignoring an overdue recall
- Abusing TexShare privileges
- Writing a bad check or using a fraudulent credit card
In accordance with the Attorney General of Texas Open Record Decision No. 100, the UT-Dallas Libraries will not release any information about a borrower including name, social security number, or any checkout information.
Faculty members may renew materials at the Circulation Desk or through the online catalog. In addition, faculty members may call the McDermott Library Circulation Desk at (882)-883-2953 and have their materials renewed. Faculty members are limited to 6 renewals. The item will not be renewed if it has been recalled for another customer. (see Exceptions above).
A RECALL allows a customer to request materials that are checked out. A customer may submit a recall request through the online catalog. The current faculty member has use of most circulating/non-Reserve material for a minimum of 21 days. Checkout periods for faculty and lecturers will be shortened by the Library in the case of a recall.
The initial customer will be notified by email or mail of the change in your due date (the Library uses the latest information from UTD Records Department). An item can be recalled from the initial customer after they have had it for 21 days. When the item is returned, the requestor is notified and the item is held at the Circulation Desk for 7 days. UT-Dallas Libraries staff may ask a faculty member to return material for use in course reserves. If the item is not returned by the new due date, recall fines will go into immediate effect.
Faculty members who checkout items from the UT-Dallas Libraries receive a slip that indicates when the materials are due back in the library. The slip is given to the customer at the time of checkout. The slip provides the following information:
Material must be returned by closing time on the due date to avoid a fine. Reserve material must be returned on time to the desk where they were checked out to avoid a fine. All Interlibrary Loan materials must be returned by closing time on the due date to avoid a fine. Library privileges may be suspended or a registration block will be initiated for faculty members who fail to abide by this policy.
- identification number of the item
- due date
- title and author of the material
Length of Checkout
Depending upon the frequency of use, the type of patron (UTD faculty, student, courtesy card user, etc.), and the type of material, the policy concerning the circulation of the material varies by location.
|McDermott Library Location||Length of Checkout|
|Main Stacks||Minimum 21 days|
|Periodicals, Microforms, Reference||Library Use Only|
|Government Documents (except as designated)||Minimum 21 days|
|Information Commons||Minimum 90 minutes|
|Laptops and Accessories||Minimum 6 hours|
|Road Maps||Minimum 21 days|
|UTD theses and dissertations||Library Use Only|
|Compact Disks (CDs, FDs)||Varies|
|Media, Digital Cameras, Calculators||7 days for faculty only; 3 days for all other borrowers|
|Special Collections||see Special Collections Policies and Procedures|
|Reserve (hourly reserves cannot leave the library)||Minimum 2 hour, 1 day, 3 day, 7 day|
|Media Reserve (cannot leave the library)||4 hours|
|Wall maps||Semester loan - faculty only|
|Interlibrary Loan items||Period set by lending library|
|Callier Center Library Location||Length of Checkout|
|Main Stack||Minimum 21 days|
|Periodicals, Reference||1 day|
|Reference Item||1 hour|
|Compact Disks (CDs)||Varies|
|Videorecordings and audio cassettes||7 days|
|Reserve||Minimum 2 hour, 1 day, 3 day, 7 day|
|Interlibrary Loan items||Period set by lending library|
|Assessment Tests||Restricted to UTD affiliates - 7 Days; with a single 3-day renewal|
|Out of Date Assessment Tests||3 days; with a 1-day renewal|
Material is due on the date printed on the "Date due slip". If material has been recalled by a customer, an email is sent to the customer with the item title stating the new due date. The material must be returned by the new due date. The library is not responsible for notifying borrowers that materials are overdue, but the Library sends a notice as a COURTESY. The library is NOT responsible for late or non-delivery of notices. Please advise the Library of a change in your email, address, or telephone number to avoid not receiving notifications about your account.
Late Return of Reserves
|Checkout Type||Fine Rate||Maximum Fine|
|2 Hour||$.10/minute||$50.00+ processing and replacement costs|
|1 day, 3 Day, 7 Day, Callier tests||$10.00/day||$50.00+ processing and replacement costs|
Late Return of All Other Materials *
|Item Type||Fines||Maximum Fine|
|Main Stacks Items||$0.50/day||$30|
|Media, Digital cameras, calculators||
$1/day (first 21 days late)
||$1/day (first 21 days late) +$25 processing + replacement fee (on the 21st day)|
|Laptops and Accessories||$0.10/minute||$50|
* Note: if an item is recalled, the fine becomes $1.00 per day. The maximum fine is $50.00 plus processing and replacement costs. Recall fines are in addition to regular fines. This policy applies to ALL borrowers. Faculty members incur no fines if item is not recalled.
Processing and Replacement Costs
PROCESSING FEES: In addition to the fine, if the material is declared lost, a non-refundable processing fee of $25/item and a replacement cost are assessed 60 days after the due date. The processing fee represents the cost of acquiring and cataloging a replacement.
REPLACEMENT COST: The replacement cost reflects current retail value for material. If the item is no longer available in print, the Library will assess a replacement cost of $85 or the exact cost if known for a book, $300 for a compact disk, and $2500 for a laptop. An exact copy, purchased by the borrower, may be accepted as a replacement. The library reserves the right to determine whether the replacement is acceptable.The replacement cost may be refunded if a lost item is returned before the item is replaced. A borrower is assessed replacement fees when materials are returned irreparably damaged.
Suspension of Privileges
Library privileges may be suspended for customers who fail to abide by the provisions of this policy or who have unpaid library charges. The Library will block a borrower's UTD course registration for any library account that includes unpaid charges totaling over $50 resulting from the non-return of lost materials including interlibrary loan materials. The Library will block the issuance of transcripts for any library account having over $25 in unpaid library fines. Library privileges may be suspended for customers who fail to abide by the provisions of this policy or who have unpaid library charges
Initial inquiries concerning a fine or the suspension of privileges should be made at the Circulation Desk. Unresolved issues can be appealed to the Dean of Libraries.