Facts and Rankings

“EPPS continues to be recognized
by US News and others for our excellence in quality programs offered."
― Dean Denis Dean

The School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences offers students an engaging educational experience, led by faculty who are renowned in their fields. Below are recent rankings and facts about the school and its impressive faculty and students.


UT Dallas is ranked No. 1 in the United States among universities founded less than 50 years ago, according to the Young University Rankings report from Times Higher Education.

US News and World Report ranked UT Dallas #146 of all national universities and #74 of all public schools. Additionally, the following EPPS graduate programs are ranked:

  • Economics – #83
  • Political Science – #72
  • Public Affairs – #68

UT Dallas was ranked #32 in Kiplinger's list of Best College Values, one of only four universities in Texas to be included.

UT Dallas' Geography and Geospatial Sciences program ranked 16th nationally and 1st in Texas in a 2010 study by Academic Analytics of Stony Brook, NY.



The School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences offers 10 undergraduate degrees, 18 graduate degrees and 7 graduate certificates.

Faculty members Daniel Arce, Denise Boots, Anthony Champagne, Jennifer Holmes, Clint Peinhardt and Alex Piquero, all received UT System Board of Regents Outstanding Teacher awards in recent years.

Dr. Denise Paquette Boots, program head for criminology program head, also received the President's Teaching Excellence Award in 2016.

Dr. Boots served as the first president of the UT Dallas chapter of Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society, the nation's oldest, largest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines.

Dr. Paul Diehl, an expert in international conflict and an advocate for teaching excellence, leads the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) at UT Dallas.

EPPS graduates Jessica D'Souza '14 and Nancy Fairbank '17 received the Outstanding Student Award, which was established in 2013 to provide public recognition to one outstanding senior graduating each year from UT Dallas.

EPPS Students are regularly selected as Archer Fellows. The Bill Archer Fellowship was established by The University of Texas System to bring highly motivated and accomplished students to Washington, D.C., to participate in a variety of highly coveted internships and classes. Students intern full-time with an organization of their choosing based on their own professional and academic goals and interests. Previous Archer Fellows have interned with a vast array of organizations such as the United Nations Information Center, the U.S. Department of State, offices within the White House and on Capitol Hill, and various non-profit organizations.


The criminology program at The University of Texas at Dallas ranks fifth in the nation in a study assessing faculty research productivity. When the ranking is adjusted for the number of faculty, the program is No. 1 in the U.S.

Dr. Alex R. Piquero, Ashbel Smith Professor of Criminology and Associate Dean of Graduate Programs, has been appointed by the U.S. Attorney General to the Office of Justice Programs' Science Advisory Board and serves as an evaluator for the National Institute of Justice.

Nicole Leeper Piquero, associate provost and Robert Holmes Professor of Criminology, is president of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS).


Kurt Beron, professor of economics, is coordinating the new Dallas-Fort Worth Federal Statistical Research Data Center, which is designed to give researchers access to sensitive data. The data center is a partnership between the U.S. Census Bureau and a consortium of leading research institutions led by UT Dallas and the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas.

Rodney Andrews, a Harvard University Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Scholar, directs Texas Schools Projects and the UT Dallas Education Research Center.

Todd Sandler, the Vibhooti Shukla Professor of Economics and Political Economy, directs the Center for Global Collective Action.


The EPPS leading-edge geospatial information sciences program offers the only master of science in GIS in Texas and the only doctorate degree in GIS in the country.

UT Dallas showcases its own geospatial information sciences programs at GIS Day each year. The day, which is celebrated by GIS scholars and practitioners worldwide, was inaugurated in 1999.


IPE students have received 50 percent of the university's Fulbright, Boren, and Critical Language Scholarships since 2009.

Since 2009, IPE and MPP students have represented almost 16% of the Archer Fellowships even though they comprise less than 1% of the student body. Archer placements have included the World Bank, the US Department of State, The Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, the White House, and The Center for American Progress, among others.

Since 2009, dozens of IPE students and PPPE students have received International Education Fund Scholarships (IEFS) for study abroad.

The PPPE Faculty includes UT Dallas' only member of the National Academy of Sciences, Brian J. L. Berry.


Political Science graduate Nancy Fairbank '17 was the first student in more than 10 years to win the very selective and prestigious Marshall Scholarship.The award, presented to 40 Americans this year, is funded by the British government and allows American students to attend graduate school in the United Kingdom for two years on full scholarship, including living and travel expenses.

UT Dallas alumnus Blake Eaton '16 received a $15,000 fellowship from the honor society of Phi Kappa Phi. Eaton is one of six graduate students in the U.S. to receive the Marcus L. Urann Fellowship, given to Phi Kappa Phi members entering the first year of graduate or professional study.


The program is home to Review of Public Personnel Administration (ROPPA), a top-ranked peer-reviewed journal of the American Society for Public Administration that publishes research on human resource management and administration in public organization.

Brooke López '17, received the Student Leader of the Year Award for her leadership skills, impact on the campus community, and involvement in organizations and activities both on and off campus.


Sociologists at UT Dallas are conducting an in-depth study to identify the needs and concerns of LGBT+ communities across the state. The project is the first comprehensive assessment of its kind in Texas.