2013 Diversity Award Winners

Corporate Diversity Award


Ericsson's relentless work in the area of diversity, inclusion, and excellence is outstanding. Ericcson has been a generous supporter of the Office of Diversity and Community Engagement in 2012, sponsoring the MentorNet and industry networking programs, and the Diversity Retention Scholarships, managed through the Galerstein Women's Center. In addition, Ericsson has supported numerous other initiatives on campus. They have also committed to increasing support for diversity and inclusion programs in 2013.

Community Champion Award

Ms. Marsha Clark

Ms. Marsha Clark is an independent consultant and founder of Marsha Clark & Associates. As an organization development consultant, Marsha has led efforts in the area of change management, leadership development, performance management, executive coaching, meeting facilitation and keynote speaking. Marsha Clark & Associates offers a wide variety of workshops targeted to enhance leadership, team, and individual development, such as building and sustaining trust, conflict management, and developing partnerships in organizational systems. Marsha and her staff are certified and experienced in these crucial workplace issue areas and offer highly interactive learning experiences.

Student Diversity Award

Mohammad Nafis Bin Nasim

Mr. Mohammad Nafis Bin Nasim is a PhD student majoring in economics. He works full time as an economist at Pricewaterhouse Coopers LLP in Dallas, Texas. He completed his undergraduate degree in economics and finance and master's degree in finance at UT Dallas. Nafis has been actively involved with the Bangladeshi Student Organization at UT Dallas since 2005. He was the president in 2012 and is currently an active member of the organization. Nafis organized various cultural, educational and fundraising events on campus to present Bangladeshi culture to the UT Dallas community and also to present UT Dallas to Bangladesh.

Staff Diversity Award

Dr. Calvin D. Jamison

Dr. Calvin D. Jamison is an exemplary institutional citizen who advocates for issues of diversity both at the university and in society as a whole. In his role as vice president for the Office of Aministration, Dr. Jamison is responsible for the oversight of the university's human resources, facilities, police, environmental health and safety, university attorney, economic development, real estate, over $600 million in campus development, and the addition of over one million square feet to the campus. He goes far and beyond his official role by meeting with students, faculty, and staff groups to promote cross-cultural understanding, inclusion and acceptance.

Faculty Diversity Award

Dr. Manuel Quevedo- Lopez

Dr. Manuel Quevedo-Lopez joined the Erik Jonnson School of Engineering faculty at UT Dallas in 2010. During his time as associate professor in the Department of Material Science and Engineering, he has been recognized with the UT Dallas Inventor Award and the Corporate Excellence Award. He has published over 100 manuscripts in peer reviewed journals, and holds nine patents. He has served as the director of student exchange programs between Mexico and Texas. Dr. Quevedo-Lopez has been responsible for recruiting Hispanic students in material science and biomedical engineering. He serves as the faculty mentor for the Society of Mexican Association of Students.

Teaching Award for Inclusive Excellence

Dr. Kim A. Knight

Dr. Kim A. Knight joined UT Dallas after receiving her Doctorate of Philosophy and English Literature at the University of California in Santa Barbara during the fall of 2011. She is an assistant professor of emerging media and communication. Her research broadly centers on technology and social media in relation to art, identity, politics and education. She is currently addressing the role of digital media as it circulates outside of broadcast paradigms and empowers or oppresses subjects in network society. She has multiple research projects dealing with the topic of gender identity and digital media. She teaches classes on digital media theory, viral media, wearable media, and issues dealing with race, class, gender, and sexuality in digital environments.

Teaching Award for Inclusive Excellence

Dr. Mary L. Urquhart

Dr. Mary L. Urquhart, joined UT Dallas in 2002 after finishing a postdoctoral fellowship at Caltech's Jet Propulsion Laboratory. She is currently an associate professor in the Department of Science/Mathematics Education and a co-director of the UTeach Dallas Initiative. She has published over 80 conference talks and peer-reviewed papers. She is an important member of the American Geophysical Union, the American Association of Physics Teachers, and the Astronomical Society of the Pacific, the National Science Teachers Association and the Texas Council of Elementary Science.

Student Organisation Diversity Award

UT Dallas League of United Latin American Citizens Comet Council

The UT Dallas League of United Latin American Citizens Comet Council is a chapter of the national organization of committed collegiate members that has helped the Hispanic community for 84 years. The epitome of diversity in membership, the LULAC Comet Council is committed to its community, inside and oustide of UT Dallas. As a national, civic organization, LULAC encourages civic engagement and promotes the importance of voting. As a campus organization, LULAC has three main priorities: to mentor youth, to provide English as a Second Language (ESL) classes opportunity on campus, and to be one of the most involved student organization on campus.